586,080 active members*
3,719 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Question 1/4 NPT threading cycle (G76)

I am looking for a canned cycle for a fanuc OT control on a femco lathe. I am a mill programmer and I have not been on a lathe in a long time. Im pretty sure that I can use a "G76" cycle to cut a 1/4 NPT thread. The depth in Z is only .375. Does someone have a cycle they can send me ? Could yo also explain the cycle so I can see how to control the cycle?

Thanks
    Terry

They are OD threads. Do you have one for 1/4 NPT?

No, I do not have one already written. Do you have Machinery's Handbook? What is the starting diameter? What is the thread length? What is the finish diameter? What is the pitch? What is the lead? How much depth of cut do you want to start with? How much depth of cut would you like to have on the final pass? What the the height of a single thread depth from crest to root?

Quote Originally Posted by txcncman View Post
    No, I do not have one already written. Do you have Machinery's Handbook? What is the starting diameter? What is the thread length? What is the finish diameter? What is the pitch? What is the lead? How much depth of cut do you want to start with? How much depth of cut would you like to have on the final pass? What the the height of a single thread depth from crest to root?
    I dont have that information off hand but is this the information that I need to have for this cycle? I you are anyone else explain the necessary format for this cycle?

My plan was to explain where to put in the numbers once you get them. I was not going to totally stop what I was doing and go look up thread specs for you.

My plan was to explain where to put in the numbers once you get them. I was not going to totally stop what I was doing and go look up thread specs for you.