586,096 active members*
3,158 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need some help with Ethernet-to-serial

Hi, I'm new to CNC and am trying to help a client with converting away from a PC-based serial port. We tried a 2-port box from Startech but couldn't get it working due to their undocumented software (even phone support was no help at all - 2 hours wasted), and now I'm looking at Moxa and Sena solutions.

o Client info:

GE Fanuc controller, 00PC (1991)
    Comm: 2400, 7, 1, Even, Flow control ON (not changeable)
    Baud,Data,Stopbit,Parity

o CNC mills:
    Nishimbo with floppy
    Strippit (floppy status unknown)

--This is what I'm considering:
    GW21R 2-port, $169
    http://www.neteon.net/prod.asp?pc=14...Wired%202-Port

Nport 5210, $185
    http://www.neteon.net/prod.asp?clvl=...c2=3&c3=14&p=3

Sena PS200, $249 with support:
    http://www.buysena.com/p.php?id=100006

--The client is also using a DOS-based method of submitting their G-code, and would like to migrate to a Windows-based solution. I saw that Heidenhain(sp?) has some free software ( http://cnczone.com/forums/showthread...3732#post23732 ) but have no idea if it will work with a Fanuc.

Any help/advice would be vastly appreciated! TIA

Have you looked at the products from DIGI. I recommend the quite a bit and only hear good things back from my customers.

Something like their One SP may work for you...
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Check Out My Build-Log: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6452

051108-1323 EST USA

kingneutron:

Are you proficient in working with networks? If your client switches from DOS to something else, then what is the something else and why? Why does your client want to change from DOS?

What does floppy capability have to do with networking?

How many machines now, and in the future? I assume Strippit is a punch press and not a mill.