586,633 active members*
3,021 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 37 of 72 27353637383947
Results 721 to 740 of 1431
  1. #721
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by hoss2006 View Post
    Hey Carl,
    You're right, the firmware has all the pinouts, etc. info.
    You load the firmware in the Arduino program and it displays all the files associated with it, basically just text files of code like the snippet TimGS posted.
    All you really edit is the "config" and "pins" files.
    You change numbers in the basic config to what you want like steps/per, velocity, ramps board type, thermistor type, enable or disable things like endstops, heaters, fans and so on.
    The pins file could already be setup if it's a newer version but it basically assigns the pin #'s
    for the drivers, heaters, endstops etc kinda like setting the breakout board pins in mach 3
    the arduino is basically the breakout board.
    Once all is set like you want, you upload the firmware from your pc or laptop to the ramps via usb, takes a few seconds is all.
    The gcode is made by a slicing program like slic3r i'm sure you know.
    you run a host program like Pronterface, Repetier, RepliatorG which are like Mach 3's main page,
    you use it to connect to the printer, jog axis, go home, turn heaters or extruder on/off
    for setting up then load the gcode and tell it to print, pause, stop, or edit, etc.
    The gcode is saved and run from the laptop like mach but you can add an sdcard to the ramps, load gcode on it, tell it to print and then be able to disconnect the pc if you want.
    you can also make lcd modules that let you control the printer and print from the sdcard without a pc at all.
    you'd still need a pc to use slic3r to make your gcode though, i just use my mini laptop
    connected all the time so it has a purpose for me buying it.
    Hoss
    One thing left to clear the fog in my big skull, tiny brain.
    The ramps system has the ability to use 5 motor drivers yet every
    Prusa setup that I have seen only make use of 4 motor drivers and
    parallel the 2 Z axis motors off of one driver. Do you know of any posted
    work log etc where the 2nd Z motor is connected to the 5th driver and not paralled? I hope what I am asking makes sense, every time I try to
    make sense out of something all I end up with is a few pennies.
    Regards, Carl

  2. #722
    The ramps board has 2 driver sockets for the Z axis to use the 2 motors in parallel and it works great so why do anything different.
    The 5th axis is used for a second extruder typically.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  3. #723
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by hoss2006 View Post
    The ramps board has 2 driver sockets for the Z axis to use the 2 motors in parallel and it works great so why do anything different.
    The 5th axis is used for a second extruder typically.
    Hoss
    Thanks for keeping your answer simple so that I could understand it.
    I didn't think about a second extruder especially because it's hard to
    get one to extrude. :-)
    Regards, Carl

  4. #724
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230

    Tablet PC

    Quote Originally Posted by hoss2006 View Post
    The ramps board has 2 driver sockets for the Z axis to use the 2 motors in parallel and it works great so why do anything different.
    The 5th axis is used for a second extruder typically.
    Hoss
    May I ask what tablet pc you are using to drive the Prusa and is it XP?
    I've been thinking about getiing one at Ebay and they have several at less
    than $100.
    Regards, Carl

  5. #725
    I'm using a Dell Mini Inspiron 910 with XP.
    Works great and runs all the programs needed.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  6. #726
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2502
    Quote Originally Posted by hoss2006 View Post
    I'm using a Dell Mini Inspiron 910 with XP.
    Works great and runs all the programs needed.
    Hoss
    It's neat the little RAMPS board can run from USB--no need for parallel. Seems to have the equivalent of a Smoothstepper built in.

    Cheers,

    BW
    Try G-Wizard Machinist's Calculator for free:
    http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCGWizard.html

  7. #727
    Yeah and if only those little drivers could run some 570 n23's.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  8. #728
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BobWarfield View Post
    It's neat the little RAMPS board can run from USB--no need for parallel. Seems to have the equivalent of a Smoothstepper built in.

    Cheers,

    BW
    A smoothstepper is a significantly better solution (though significantly more expensive), I think he uses an FPGA as a pulse generator, and I think there is an arm chip on the board as well.

    The printer electronics are more a "good enough" solution. The arduino is the signal generator, it's somewhat limited in the maximum frequency it'll put out and because the pololu's require only momentary pulses the pulse widths generated by most of the firmwares are narrow enough to cause issues with the types of drivers generally used on larger machines.

  9. #729
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by rpovey View Post
    The printer electronics are more a "good enough" solution. The arduino is the signal generator, it's somewhat limited in the maximum frequency it'll put out and because the pololu's require only momentary pulses the pulse widths generated by most of the firmwares are narrow enough to cause issues with the types of drivers generally used on larger machines.
    Since the source code is available. All you need to do is to add in a short delay to widen the pulse. That is what someone did on the reprap forums to get the Teacup firmware to work with some cheap chinese drivers.
    HF X2 & 8x12; Shopsmith Mark V 520; USCutter MH-871; 50W Laser w/LightObjects controller; Sony A65; 3D Printers: MendelMax and custom one using Makerslide

  10. #730
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by stephenrc View Post
    Since the source code is available. All you need to do is to add in a short delay to widen the pulse. That is what someone did on the reprap forums to get the Teacup firmware to work with some cheap chinese drivers.
    Yes absolutely you can do that.
    My point was more that it's not the equivalent of a smooth stepper, which if anything is over engineered.

    There are a number of things I'd want to fix in the firmware before I connected it to a mill. Incomplete G-Code support, poor E-Stop support, pulse widths etc etc.

    If I were going to do this I'd start with a faster processor, say a BeagleBone or possibly a R-Pi, though the latter has something of an IO deficit. And I don't think it would end up much cheaper than a smooth stepper, though it might be interesting as a self contained controller.

  11. #731
    Still printing now and again, working on some panels for my mill console
    to hold meters and switches etc.
    Hoss
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 101_0823_cropped.JPG   101_0848_cropped_480x600.jpg  
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  12. #732
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    60
    Is that a rattle snake
    Pat
    cnczone.com/forums/benchtop_machines/148568-yax2c-yet_another_x2_conversion.html

  13. #733
    No, pity I don't have any brown filament.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  14. #734
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1880
    It looks like a pile of ****e! as in he's got so much on his desk he can't see straight!
    thanks
    Michael T.
    "If you don't stand for something, chances are, you'll fall for anything!"

  15. #735
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    46

  16. #736
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    136
    I just got my prusa put together, and I'm trying to upload the sketch to the arduino. I'm trying to use marlin, but I don't know which file I'm supposed to use. Any help?

    EDIT: Nevermind, found it. Poorly formatted wiki. It's Marlin.pde

  17. #737
    Played with some glow in the dark ABS.
    I got it from Protoparadigm but I noticed Repraper.com has green and blue Glow now.
    Hoss

    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qee1VjPjtIA"]Reprap Prusa Glow in the Dark Prints - YouTube[/ame]
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

  18. #738
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    60

    Casper the Ghost

    Nice. Your camera picked it up pretty well in the dark.
    Pat
    cnczone.com/forums/benchtop_machines/148568-yax2c-yet_another_x2_conversion.html

  19. #739
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    46

    What do you use on the blue tape?

    Hoss,
    What do you use on the blue tape? I have been heating the bed to 60c and cleaning off the blue tape with alcohol to get the PLA to stick; but it sticks a little too well. Do you have any suggestions?

  20. #740
    For PLA I just use 3M blue painters tape, for ABS I started wiping some ABS glue on the tape.
    It's cheaper than kapton and easier to lay down on the glass.
    Read here how to make ABS glue.
    ABS Glue: Weld, Cast, Texture and More! | ProtoParadigm
    Get acetone, nail polish remover has additives that keep the ABS from dissolving well.
    The glue on glass alone was so-so, still pulled up.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

Page 37 of 72 27353637383947

Similar Threads

  1. mhackney's 3D Printers
    By mhackney in forum 3D Printer / 3D Scanner Discussion
    Replies: 164
    Last Post: 04-04-2014, 09:17 AM
  2. ROBO 3D Printers
    By CNC_Kid in forum 3D Printer / 3D Scanner Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2014, 09:13 PM
  3. Why have 3D printers in the classroom?
    By cncadmin in forum 3D Printer / 3D Scanner Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2013, 04:10 AM
  4. 3D Printers why so quite on here?
    By xairflyer in forum 3D Printer / 3D Scanner Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-17-2012, 04:55 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •