586,060 active members*
4,154 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question siemens servos and drives

hi, im new to this fourm,

and i am about to build a 3x6 ft extrusion based cnc that i plan on using to mill 6061-t6 aluminum and would like to know your thoughts on the siemens servo motors and drives. Specifically the SINAMICS s110 drive and the 1fk7060-5af71-1ua0 servo motor with a power rating of 1.48 kW package that i saw available for 1199 euros. Also i will be using this in a ball screw setup and this is my first extrusion based builds, so if possible can any of you send me some tips on this type of cnc.

Thanks, Victor

vlam3327

The siemen motors & drives are good, But how are you going to run them what control & software are you going to use, if Mach3 then they need to be able to take step/dir signals, If they do not, then you should look at Dmm servo motors & drives

http://www.dmm-tech.com/
    Mactec54

i am planning to be using the SINUMERIK 828D for the control but i still not sure about which software i will be using as i do not yet know about the step/dir signals.

vlam3327

If your plan is to use the SINUMERIK 828D control,then you will be using there software that suits/goes with that control
    Mactec54

Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    vlam3327

.....then you should look at Dmm servo motors & drives
    stop selling ur brand of stuff on this open forum; that is not an ethical reply. if u say "then you should look at Dmm servo motors & drives OR EQUIVALENT" then ok. get with the program.

mike_Kilroy
    stop selling ur brand of stuff on this open forum; that is not an ethical reply. if u say "then you should look at Dmm servo motors & drives OR EQUIVALENT" then ok. get with the program.

As I have told you before I do not SELL the DMM servo system, I use there system along with other servo systems, With what Valm3327 is building the DMM system is a very good fit
    Mactec54