586,096 active members*
3,510 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Unhappy help my 6040 yoocnc is losing steps

Hi.

i am a new newbie despite trying for over a year to work out my cnc 6040 machine. i started with motor issues later progressing onto software issues, thankfully i think have most of them licked but still im having problems.

is there anyone out there can can help me?

i have tuned (i think) my machine and the stepper motors are set to different values for x and y. not the 320 in the manual. i was pushing the machine too fast, as recommended again in the manual but that just made the axis stall. A lot!
    finally after lotsa research and head scratching i slowed the feed rate down.
    that cured the stalling.

its like the machine keeps on losing steps and not returning to x0,y0
    i was getting oval circles and the 'tuning' helped but i dont think its enough.

im not sure what else to say so if anyone has any ideas please ask me the questions that may get to the bottom of what is going wrong.

i have tried many things right down to taking the machine apart, reading every scrap i can about step loss, pouring over the manual (i found different ones for the same machine that say different things (hows that possible?))
    but to no avail.

i would really appreciate some help, thanks

Well, I don't know how much help I can be since I don't have a running CNC. Secondly, I don't know your system.

First I would make sure all my axis can move smoothly without binding when turning the lead screw by hand. (One must eliminate the obvious.)

I would ensure that my motors are correctly connected to the drivers as per driver manual. Also ensure that you have a good working power supply that can handle your motor loads. Also check for any lose or poor connections to your motors and power supply.