586,471 active members*
3,883 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

my first homemade CNC

Hello. Well this is my first try on homemade CNC and i try to designe it the way it will cut aluminium without problems. My main concern is that Y-axis bridge isn't strong enough, about main cage ridgity, i can add more vertical aluminium extrusions to make it more ridgit. All the additional parts are made from aluminium. So please comment/critic the design.

In the link there is the Solidworks 2010 assembly.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24846288/Cnc2.rar

I'm an "armchair" critic - meaning I have not built a cnc for cutting aluminum.

What strikes me is that your machine stands on "toothpick" legs. I see no triangular braces, only parallelograms - a weak structure. I also don't know what forces you will face when cutting aluminum.

Perhaps you could look for design ideas used by successful working units on this forum.

yes, thats true, but i can easily add some more legs at the end of the build(also im using some extra strong brackets, so thaht shouldn't be a problem

I suppose that you will know what you need to beef up after you build it.

It wasn't only the legs but also the flexing potentional and the lack of corner bracing of your X-axis (long side). And maybe the Y-axis too?

But it does have a clean look to it. Keep going.

on the model, there are not any brackets given, but in real i use strong one. If you mean flex under self weight? no there wont be any, and if any, those vertical legs will hopefully fix it. About Y-axis flex, i agree, it could be a problem, but since linear bearings are preety much apart it wont be a problem, but in the end, if the flex of Y-axis bridge will be a problem, i can still add second aluminium extrusion aside. My main concern is if this design is ready to make some aluminium extrusion, or should i change design before finishing it(since now i hace built main cage, so X-axis, and some part of Y-axis bridge)