586,100 active members*
2,810 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Looking for advice and insight on some machines

Looking for advice and insight on some machines

Hello all, I have been doing some reading and have come accross two names that sprout my interest when looking for a first buy on a CNC machine. I have found Taig and Tormach to be the two names of choice. I dont know which is the better buy from what I am looking to do. I would like to mill some chess pieces as well as car parts like knobs, shifters, trim and other things. I would also like to use my CNC machine to finish off some gun kits like the M911 kit that is sold etc... I studied some in college on machining but I cannot afford a Haas or Mazak so wanted to start with something I can afford. Will the Tormach PCNC 1100 suffice? Seems like the Tormach is a turnkey setup while the Taigs I have seen lack a complete setup. Any help/ (personal advice) is greatly appreicated. I plan to work with materials like cast iron, steel, aluminum, and Poly's.

Range of travel on the Tormach seems great for the price = 18" x 9.5" x 16.25" (X,Y,Z) is there other machines that are comparable? Thanks again

hello, I think the Z axis is a little longer ,do you think about it

What you propose machining sounds adventurous for a Taig.

Quote Originally Posted by silverdrgn View Post