586,354 active members*
3,258 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > About to try carving my first Edge Lit Acrylic Sign
Page 1 of 2 12

About to try carving my first Edge Lit Acrylic Sign

I posted these two posts over at the vectric site, and I wanted to ask here too... As there is more activity here...

So, I'm about ready to take a stab at this.. I bought some led strips (various colors) and power supplies a few weeks ago, got them out this morning and wired them and made sure it all works... I have some 3/16" and 1/4" scraps of acrylic to practice on.. All I need to do now is decide on the bits, speeds, and feeds, and then a design..

I have various bit.. The only bit I have that is 'made' for plastic is an amana 1/8" single flute up spiral...

But I have a 45 and 60 degree miter fold bit, a couple 90 degree carbide bits, some 1/8", 1/4" 3/8" end mills, some radiused, 1/16", 1/8", and 1/4" ball nose..

and I also have these tiny 1/8" 20 degree 1.5mm engraving bits.. I'm wondering if those might be good to use for this..

Anyways, with what I've listed as in my bit collection, would like to hear what you guys suggest I start out with, and what DOC, speed, and feed rates I should use..

I'll be using V Carve Pro to create the tool paths.....

Thanks,
    Mark

Okay.. These engraving bits are 1/8" diameter, 20 degrees, with a .004" engraving tip...

My test Acrylic is 3/16" thick...

Here is a rendering of the file I want to run...

I currently set it up to 'V Carve' with a flat depth of .0325" a start depth of .005" spindle speed of 10K, feed rate of 100 IPM, pass depth of .025, step over and clearance pass step over of 40%

The outside profile pass is currently set up with a 1/8" acrylic upspiral bit (single flute), spindle speed of 5K, feed rate of 100 IPM, Pass depth of .035, 3D tabs .5" long by .075" thick..

Will take over an hour to carve according to VCP...