586,060 active members*
3,992 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Time for a real stupid question

I'm just a simple country physicist (to paraphrase McCoy from Star Trek - for those of us old enough to remember the original series when he used to say "I'm just a simple country doctor...").

I have 3-axis, for the sake of the discussion lets call then x, y, and z (which could just as easily be forward/backward, left/right, up/down.

I'm assuming that one stepper/one axis (lets say x) can move in both the x and -x directions. Likewise for the other axis too.

If I can do all that with 3 steppers on a 3-axis board, then why would I ever need a 4th axis? I'm trying to envision a time when I would ever need a 4th axis to see if I should build that ability into my forst CNC router.

As I used to tell my students back when I was teaching. There is really no such thing as a stupid question. There are just questions that make everybody else in the class point at you and giggle.

A forth axis, from my limited experience is usually a rotary one.
    Suppose you wanted to use the machine to engrave, route, or in general cut material from a round or cylindrical object. The forth axis would rotate the object in sync with the other three axes. The X (up, down) travel would need to be great enough for the rotary forth axis to be set up on the table under the x axis.

I'm sure many will elaborate on this and indicate many other uses for a forth axis.

because, that's why...

sdantonio,

As an example of a time where a 4th axis would be handy...

Using a three axis machine your tool is only able to access the workpiece from one direction. Let's say you had something that you needed to access from the top and then the side. By using a 4th axis, you can rotate workpiece (or the tool) to come in from the side instead of the top. There are also machines (typically very expensive) that use 5 axes. And I suppose there are conceivably machines that use more than that.

Dave