586,076 active members*
3,954 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

thin wall threading?

Hi guys,

I'm working on a round piece that has thin walls and needs to be threaded. The piece is 2 5/16" in diameter (I.D.) and .09" thick. I really don't know what kind of threads to put on the inside of it. I'm just a hobbyist, and even though I have a machinist making the part for me, hes doing this as a favor so I don't think he will give me too much input.

Obviously, the threads need to be very fine and not very deep. He's asking me what the diameter and pitch should be. I don't know what to tell him. Anyone have any advice?

He will probably do this as single point threading.

Thanks

How much strength do you need to have left in the material after the thread is completed? Here is a chart for you out of Machinery's Handbook. On a 10 TPI thread you would have about 0.004" material left per side.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails unified.jpg  

The 20TPI thread on that table seems about right for my application. So the "depth of internal thread and UN external thread" of .02706 is actually how "deep" the threads will be cut into the wall of the part? Most of this information seems to be expressing the profile of the thread, thats what all that truncation stuff is?

Sorry to be such a newbie at this..

Yes, truncation describes the limits of the thread profile. What you are needing is basic thread call out data. With the 2.3125" OD and 0.090" wall, If you are trying to achieve maximum thread engagement with a 20 TPI thread and maximum remaining material, put you at an ID of 2.1325" plus 2 times the V thread height (0.0433 X 2 = 0.0866) which gives a nominal thread diameter of 2.2191".

Is the OD of 2.3125" you describe above the OD of the part or the outside of the thread? The ID of my part is 2.3125" so I'm a little confused. I have attached a picture of what I'm working on. The banned area is the threaded portion.