586,525 active members*
3,322 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Developing new cutting tool concept, interested?

Hi Guys
    My name is Mehdi and I am from New Zealand. I am a toolmaker by trade since 1988; I also do tool design and CNC programming, using Pro/Engineer for quite a while. In early 2010 I developed an idea for rough cutting on machining centres, it is not an ordinary cutter with different geometry and it is a whole mechanism that acts as a cutter.
    It would be considers as a normal tool in tool changing procedure and I believe cutting parameters for 80mm cutter can be approximately: spindle 500 RPM, feed 2000 mm/min and depth of cut about 10mm.
    The material removal rate is significantly larger than even feed mills and the amount of generated vibration and heat in quite low, as result the smaller machines can handle bigger cutters and can be run with coolant at all the times.
    I submitted the design with Lambert&Lambert in US for valuation last year and it considered a significantly valuable concept.
    I am looking for a company or person that be interested in developing the idea.

Smile Interested

Hi,
    My company is involved in developing new cnc machines and cutting tools and would be interested in finding out more about your project.
    You can contact me (David) through the Contact Us page on our web site:
    www.advancedrobotic.com
    Australian CNC Routers & Plasma Cutters - http://www.advancedrobotic.com/

Hi David,

Thanks for your message, I would like to introduce myself as Mehdi Rezaei and I’ve been involved with product development, toolmaking and CNC machining for 25 years, I came up with this cutting tool idea in early 2010.
    I submitted a hand sketched design with one of the US invention agencies in 2010 and they considered it as a product with potential for development.