586,075 active members*
4,103 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Smile Help Designing a Custom Wheel

Hello and thank you all in advance for your wisdom and experience. I am a total newb to this forum as well as to manufacturing in general. I apologize in advance for my illiteracy in this field. This question may have been posted before somewhere else in this forum so any redirection is greatly appreciated.

I am researching a custom wheel idea we have but not sure how to get it from concept to reality. I know we have a lot of research to do and I am hoping to get some good intel from you all.

This wheel will be for trucks at first and I'm thinking about a 18x9 and 20x9. Aluminum, Mag, no idea what would be better or what the options are.

I'm also assuming I will need 3D CAD illustrations to give to a machinist. Not sure where to go to find someone who can do it as well as not screw me cause I'm a newb.

Hub sizes, offsets, etc? I am hoping that there is someone here with experience working with wheel design and manufacture and can point me in the right direction to accomplish this project.

Thank you again for all your help.

Brad Cantrell

I'll help you out with questions, I build motorcycle wheels... No time tonight though, watching Grimm!
    EXIT 85 Manufacturing "The best custom wheels, period" (www.exit85.com)
    Experts in low volume, highly complicated, one-off forged aluminum wheels

Thanks for your help.

So where do I start? Am I even on the right path?

I guess you are on the right path. I do not have the technical data you seek. That would best be found from a direct automotive source, such as a master mechanic or your local dealerships. You can possibly get the data from online searches as well.

Here is screen shots of a basic wheel drawn in MasterCam.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails wheel01.jpg   wheel02.jpg  

Here is a screen shot with the center hole pattern added.