586,055 active members*
4,277 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > newbie: okuma vmc osp U-10m actual position problem
Page 1 of 2 12

newbie: okuma vmc osp U-10m actual position problem

I am totally new to machining and to okuma. I have an okuma/crown 4020vmc. A person at my shop reloaded the software into the machine and now it reads my actual position as 625 x 637y and 650 z and will not let me jog or move the position. How do I get it to read the actual position correctly. (the machine was at home when he rebooted the software)

Check in the back of your machine for the Management Data card. It should have the encoder offsets recorded on it as well as the stroke end limits. Once those are set, you need to re enter your fixture offsets as well as your tool offsets etc.

Reloading software flushes all memory, so that is why it's highly recommended to back up first.

Newer controls do this automatically, older controls require a utility disk. Most all machines can at least use the data pip function to make a text file of the parameters , but saving the PBU files with the utility is the best way.

Best regards,

Thank you for the answer. This probably sounds really dumb but I don't know where to enter the encoder offsets and the stroke end limiets. I do have a backup card which has bpu parameters saved by the previous owner but I do not know how to load them. How can I do that?

You'll need to go into your PARAMETER mode and then ITEM down until you get to SYSTEM PARAMETERS. You should find your encoder offset listed as PR ZERO OFFSET and your STROKE END LIMITS should be on the same page if I remember right.

Press SET then enter the numbers followed by WRITE. (record old numbers first incase you make a mistake) You should get an alarm that says" Power on effective parameter set" at that time. Enter all of your numbers, press the BACKUP key and then power off and on your control.