586,117 active members*
3,606 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Resources for Milling Education

Resources for Milling Education

Where does one find information about milling from knowing nothing to get started in milling?

My background is Hardware and Software. I can program/build anything to do anything. But the concepts and best practices of milling is something I know nothing about. I am interested in learning everything I can about machining, as I am trying to start my first project. I just was curious how a noob gets started on the real education of machining.

I have built my hardware platform as a 3 axis controlled, 1U rackmount chassis and it currently is not hooked to a mill. I'll get that in a week or so. I am just watching the stepper motors move (unattached to anything) when I run Gcode thru Mach2. It's fun, but I think I am ready to get into my new hobby a little further.

So if anyone has any suggestions as to a book or DVD series or the like, I'd appreciate a response.

I will be working with aluminum machining small parts to start. I will probably buy a HF Micro Mill to start playing with, then use it to maybe build up a gantry mill...

Thanks,
    Rob.

Software For Metalworking
    http://closetolerancesoftware.com

http://technicalvideorental.com/rental_10.html

I found this the other day there's a boatload of info to get you started. :banana:

If you are just starting out, you might want to check out 'The Home Machinists Handbook' by Doug Briney. It is focused on small sherline type machines, and has details and pictures on just about every page. It starts out with a section on the measuring tools you need, and then moves on to speeds/feeds, and how to make some workholding tools.

I got it from the Sherline page, when I got a mini mill from them a long time ago.
    They put up a bunch of cool information that helped me get going, so I bought some of their stuff.