586,655 active members*
2,841 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Cincom f16 problems

I've been put in the great spot to getting an old machine running again and everyone who used to work on the machine have been let go. I have zero screw experience so we're going with the operators manuals to learn what is what. We got the tool setter fixed and have started to alter an existing program that used to work but, the guy who used to program fudged his programs without the tool setter and offsets so his programs are cr*p. Here is my problem...I have an machine over travel alarm and I can't figure out why. Maybe I'm just missing something but here is the program:
    %
    :3238
    N10G69
    N20G99M15
    N30M07
    N40G50X-0.12Z0.6M52
    N50G0X3.Z0T1100 (face off tool)
    N60M06
    N70M16
    N80M03S1000T1
    N90G0X0.350
    N100Z0.
    N110G1X-0.05T2100F.002 (center drill)
    N120G0Z-0.250
    N130G0X3.0
    N140G68
    N150X3.
    N160T2100
    N170T2F0.001
    N180Z-0.05
    N190X0.
    N191Z0
    N200G01Z0.05
    N210G00Z-0.25 (error happens here!!)
    N220X3.
    N230T2500
    N240T4F0.001

it seems basic to me but I'm a vertical mill guy. Is it a problem because of the G50, and what is the G50 really telling it...part length?? Any help would be helpful with this machine. thanks guys.

G50 is the/a coordinate system set.
    So the headstock starts at the start position.
    In the program the G50Z.6 tells the work coordinate system that you are at Z.6, now all of your z coordinates are base on that.
    I would say that your start position is too far back and that Z-.25 is unreachable.
    Control the process, not the product!
    Machining is more science than art, master the science and the artistry will be evident.