586,106 active members*
3,177 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Question about wiring steppers on g540

Question about wiring steppers on g540

Hi I just received my G540 and I'm pretty new to the cnc game and I want to make sure I am hooking up the steppers correctly.

What I have :
    G540 Motion controller: http://www.geckodrive.com/gecko/imag...G540Pinout.jpg

23H276-28-4B steppers - Specifications:
    Size: Nema 23 (Size 57)
    Phase: 2 Phase
    Step Angle: 1.8 Degrees
    Voltage: 70V Max
    Current: 2.8A
    Resistance: 1.2ohm
    Inductance: 4.7mH
    Holding Torque: 269 Oz-in
    Dual Shaft
    Bipolar 4 Wire
    Wiring
    Black > A+
    Green > A-
    Red > B+
    Blue > B-

24VDC/5.0A Power Supply
    24VDC Fan with 2-pin Molex connector

*** Does the DB9-Stepper connections below look right? ***:
    pin1: Current SET resistor - 1/4w resistor end
    pin2: GND
    pin3: GND
    pin4: GND
    Pin5: Current Set Resistor - 1/4w resistor other end
    Pin6: Phase B motor wire - Stepper Red B+
    Pin7: Phase /B motor wire - Stepper Blue B-
    Pin8: Phase A motor wire - Stepper Black A+
    Pin9: Phase /A motor wire - Stepper Green A-

Thanks for any help! :wee:
    Frank

The DB-9 wiring is correct. Use a 2.7K resisistor (red, violet, red, gold).

Mariss

Thank you - I'll be soldering tonight! I picked up a 2.7k and 100k so I just won't use the 100k in parallel.

bongiorno,

The G540s are a pain in the rear with the connectors they use (need good soldering skills) and having to find current set resistors. I'm speaking as the G540 designer here.

If you are interested, here's the back story on the G540 and how it came to be; basically it was an unintended accident that went very wrong.