586,106 active members*
3,327 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > What do you think of Fine Line Automation?

What do you think of Fine Line Automation?

I was thinking about going with a Shark Pro Plus HD with extended bed but am now looking at the possibility of DIY Fine Line Automation FLA 300. The setup seems sturdier. If you have the time could you give me some input regarding the following questions:
    1. Is Fine Line Automation reputable?
    2. Do they provide good technical assistance?
    3. How about the software? How does Mach 3 match up to Vetric Aspire? Can Vetric be used with FLA 300?
    4. What are the X,Y, Z axis limitations for the FLA 300? The Shark I was looking at is approximately 24 x 48 x 7.

I am a total newbie. I've built two airplanes so have no back off on DIY projects. As a matter of fact, I prefer a DIY because you really get to know what you are building. Might the FLA 300 be too much for a newbie?

Thanks for any assistance you could share.
    Mazzy

If I were you, I'd go with the kits offered by CNCRouterParts.com. Their products are very good and they are well known for their support. Do a search for Fine Line Automation on this forum and you'll find a number of negative reports about the support you can expect from him. (BTW most critical parts for the FLA kits are available from CNCRouterParts.) I saw a Shark router at Rockler last year and was unimpressed with its construction.

I had a Shark Pro+ (not the HD) and it was an O.K. machine to get started. But I ended up using it mostly to fabricate the parts for my home-built machine and sold it after a few months.

What ticked me off was the flex of the machine. But if you look around their forum you will find a few folks who use it for professional sign carving so it is not completely useless. I could even machine some aluminum pieces for my new machine when going slow and shallow.