586,121 active members*
3,005 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > HELP drip feeding a fadal 4020a using mastercam x2

HELP drip feeding a fadal 4020a using mastercam x2

hey everyone i am fairly new to 3d programming and have just programmed my first large 3d program using mastercam x2, only problem is the memory on my fadal vmc 4020a isnt large enough for the whole program, i have read that u can drip feed using a dnc software, but i have no clue how to do this any help would be hugely appreciated. i am using mastercam x2 to program and post and the machine is a fadal vmc4020a with fadal 88hs control, thanks in advance for anyhelp

p.s. i use rs232 cables for communication thru a a/b switch box

Copy the page from the Fadal manual on this topic and post it here as reference. Then we can walk through it.

Have you ever sent a program thru your RS232 before to the control? I am wondering if you have the right cable configuration as fadal has a certain wiring on there RS232.

And if you have sent a program to the machine thru your MC to load into the control?
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

we are going to add to your code a leading line and set the control to "command" and the control option of single block on then (if you answer correctly to my first questions):

DNC
    %
    O5336 ( TEST REV: )
    ( TEST )
    (MACHINE TOOL : FADAL FORMAT 1 )
    (DATE - 05-04-12 )
    (TIME - 13:54 )
    (*)
    (MATERIAL: )
    (STOCK SIZE: X = 0. Y = 0. Z = 0. )
    (HOME POSTION COORIDNATES ARE THE FOLLOWING)
    (X= )
    (Y= )
    (Z= TOP OF PART)
    (*)
    ( TOOL - 3 DIA. - .75 3/4 FLAT ENDMILL )
    ( TOOL - 1 DIA. - .5 1/2 BULL ENDMILL 0.0313 RAD )
    ( TOOL - 2 DIA. - .5 1/2 BALL ENDMILL )