586,080 active members*
3,680 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > $2000 Budget for Milling Machine and CNC Conversion
Page 1 of 3 123

$2000 Budget for Milling Machine and CNC Conversion

I've set aside a total of $2000 bucks for buying a decent Milling machine and for converting it to a CNC. I'm a newbie so I thought that I'd get some help and advice from the pros here. I want to include everything in my budget required to start up (everything adds up) I'm pretty handy, but I have zero experience with machining other than shop class in high school and a class I took up at Rolla. I want to have the ability to machine aluminum, plastic, (maybe even 1/8" steel?) parts for building RC cars/plane/robot without having to outsource or borrow machines. I've got a list of parts and prices that I came up with after researching a bit. I'd appreciate any comments on where I can get better deals or if you suggest a different machine that would be an upgrade but would stay within my budget. Thanks!

These prices include shipping!

Harbor Freight Mini Mill $621.93
    Little Machine Shop Mini Mill Starter Kit $105.86
    Little Machine Shop Belt Conversion Kit $150
    Probotix 3-Axis SideStep 180 Stepper Motor Driver Kit with ready to run large enclosure $416.59
    CNC Fusion Mini-Mill CNC kit #2 $597
    Total $1891.38

In addition to what you have listed, you will need a vise, tooling (end mills, drills, etc.), dial indicator, micrometers, calipers, R8 collets or holders for the tooling. There is an endless list of what you could get, but some of this stuff is pretty much mandatory.

I think the mill comes with a drill chuck and arbor, but if it doesn't, you will need that too.

Thanks for the reply 109jb!

I'm glad you told me that about the tooling and vice, jeez that's obvious!

I've got calipers and a micrometer. What would I need the dial indicator for?