586,287 active members*
4,052 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Some beginner questions about Mastercam X4

Some beginner questions about Mastercam X4

I started to discover mcx4 few days ago and now I'm having some questions. I'm trying to create G-code for turning. I have to note that I have little bit of previous experience with Keller. Also I have experience with CAD programs so making parts in mcx4 is not much problem for me but the problem is to get G-code out of it.

I have done my first part in mcx4. Firstly, I would like to know where do I discribe the initial workpiece and tell it how much it is between chuck. Then I guess it is time for making toolpaths. I make them on final part, right? I made some toolpaths on it but its not correct because it doesnt know how much it is needed to cut before final part, hence how do I "connect" the initial workpiece and the finished part? And finally, when toolpaths are done, how I get the G-code out of it and can I see 2D/3D simulation?

I'm stuck behind these things right now and I hope there aren't too much questions for 1st post Also all tips/tricks and things to consider doing these steps are very welcome!

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8UXM7fABF4]Mastercam-lathe Programming - YouTube[/ame]

Ok that video sucked in so many ways.
    One way to fast the second you can not see allot of the screen info and to make worse the guy is drawing all this extra geo that is not needed and another thought he had a solid and was ready to work.

So please do not look at this and think you have to create all this stuff to get this to work.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

...but the music was good..

Well I agree there.