587,030 active members*
4,231 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > Engraving Machines > Water temp, glass laser tube

Water temp, glass laser tube

Just picked up a Hurricane laser and am trying to get it set up and running. So far so good, other than the instructions which are a joke. I have no experience with glass laser tubes and the instructions indicate that the water should be kept at or below 25C. (~77F) My small work space is air conditioned but in the extreme Phoenix heat about the best room temp I can sustain is 78-80 degrees. The supplied so called "water chiller" that came with the machine can only manage to keep the water around 30C (~86F) at best under those conditions. So just how important is it that he water be 25C or less and what can I expect if I run it at the higher temps?

Hi, did this come with a cw-3000? I don't think the cw-3000 chills the water
    does it? I think if a tube operates higher temp than designed, it won't be as
    stable and give predictable results. Say you start off cutting acrylic at 60%
    as it warms up it might need more power or slower speed to do same job. I
    have a freon chilller so it cools the water too, never had one overheat. It
    will be interesting to see if someone has experienced an overheated tube and
    learn the symptoms of such. GM