586,075 active members*
4,186 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Large Gear Clock Project

I wanted to do some router bit testing using a bunch of Tulipwood I had on hand. I thought to myself "I'm gunna make a large clock". What a perfect project to test the bits and a few other things along the way..

I wrote a bok called "Building the HANS Electric Gear Clock". The book is written to be built by a woodworker using a router table or scroll saw. I also have a DVD with all the drawing files available for CNC and LASER folk.

I decided to take the drawing files and size them larger to build a Gandfather sized clock. Im doing this project off the cuff. Im going to be using the book and enlarged drawing files. I enlarged the files by a factor of 1.5. This is my first time building this clock this way and I wanted to take you with me on this journey to creating cool clock, or a lot of firewood.

The project will be an on going one and can be found here:
    Large Gear Clock

Lets start with Gear #6
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ov5j-y0qcM0"]GearTest - YouTube[/ame]

Kind of boring but it was created in length to compare the SmoothStepper with parallel port.

Here is Gear #7
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6DlKSIjSnM]Large Clock Gear 7 - YouTube[/ame]

I streamlined it a little.

I will be adding entries to this post as I move forward.
    Author of: The KRMx01 CNC Books, The KRMx02 CNC Books, The KRmc01 CNC Milling Machine Books, and Building the HANS Electric Gear Clock. All available at www.kronosrobotics.com

Sorry if the link to the project was not working. It should be good now.

One update I will add to the project. It is important that you use extra clamps and use tabs on the milled parts that are large enough to that the stock does not shift.