586,121 active members*
3,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Looking to start a 1st build ASAP (Canada)

Red face Looking to start a 1st build ASAP (Canada)

Hi everybody!

Let me first say ~ awesome forums! Soooo much information here, completely overwhelming to say the least!

I am a 100% total NEWB that has been bitten hard by the maker bug. Checking in from Hamilton, Ontario.

I am an intermediate woodworker with a home shop full of just about everything I need to actually construct any of the plans I've spent time reading around here. I feel like I can hand-build most of the DiY MDF kits with confidence. I've been playing around and designing things in CAD for years now for most of my hobby projects and I'm actually going back to school in September for a civil/architectural drafting type program so I will get a great opportunity to expand my CAD knowledge-base. It hit me a while ago that I could really get a lot of use and fun out of a CNC machine!

I've been reading as much as I can and really trying to wrap my head around the electronics end of a project like this but I truthfully have very little electronics experience. I also have very little money for a project like this hah! As I said, going back to school and all... eek.