586,545 active members*
3,145 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Small CNC advice needed for education

I am new to all of this and admit that I have no idea what I am doing or looking for as far as a small CNC machine is concerned. What I am is a coach of a small high school robotics team. We currently have no machining capabilities at our school. Anything that requires machining has to go to my Father who has a manual machine in his garage, or to the machine shop up the road. I am looking for a small Milling machine, preferable to go the CNC route, that students could use to produce small parts for robotics. Almost all of our parts are cut out of aluminum or plastic and are pretty small. We aren't cutting steel often or anything hard. I currently have $6,000 to spend plus another 3k-4k that I could add from the school. I have looked at the Tormach but the price is a bit high. I don't know that I can squeeze one in with tooling etc for that price. I looked at a Syil but after reading some of the reviews on here I am concerned. The Smithy looks like a possibility, but it seems like a manual machine? I have looked at a few "used" machines on ebay but I have 2 problems. The first is actually finding a machine that is close and decent. The other is the weight and getting it into the robotics room. I have to get it up in an elevator with a 2600# weight limit. and through a 36" door.

Opinions on what to get? What I should be looking for in total cost? etc?