586,111 active members*
3,671 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > ZenBotCNC? Or is ShopBot Worth the extra price?

ZenBotCNC? Or is ShopBot Worth the extra price?

I've talked myself out of the exciting sounding laser cutter and realized that a CNC Router would serve my needs better. I've been doing some research and I'm having a hard time choosing. Pay less for a ZenBot or step up to the ShopBot in hopes of getting more production out of the machine through better support and tightly integrated software. (I'm still fairly new to CNC and learning as I go.)

ShopBot Desktop Starter Kit (24x18) for $5,748.95
    or
    ZenBot $2434

(edited to include more thorough price guess on ZenBot:
    $1099 ZenBot 1624
    $ 399 Gecko Controller
    $ 107 Hitachi Router
    $ 281 Precision Collet and Bit set
    $ 149 Mach3
    $ 299 Vectric Cut3D (or MeshCAM, etc in my price range)
    $ 100 Shipping
    $2434 Total or $2634 for upgrade to 24"x24"
    )

Expected Use:
    3D/profile cutting of 1/4" to 1/2" wood and plastic
    vinyl and cardboard cutting (with drag knife)
    very light aluminum work (bezels, control panels)

So I'm asking for your thoughts on this. I know the ShopBot machine and support are good, but is it worth the extra money? Is the software that good? Or should I save some cash and put it towards a CNC course at the local college/trade school?

I'd really appreciate your input. And if you think there's a machine out there with a better price/quality/support compromise, I'd love to hear that too!

Thanks,
    Mike

I would look more at the Shopbot buddy It will give you way more flexible options bigger table with a power stick you can get 8 ft long cuts. More robust router and like they say everybody with a cnc is a sign guy.