586,058 active members*
4,361 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Help with multi-part fixture

Help with multi-part fixture

Hi,

We have the attached part to do in aluminum, which comes back all the time in batches of 2000.

Stock is 3/8 X 1 1/2, full part is made in 1 operation.

We run this on a Haas VF2. We basically setup 2 Kurt vises and run 2 parts at a time, one in each vise.

I have no experience in making a multipart fixture and would like to know if anyone here could suggest anything.

Thanks for your help,

Pharkas
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails bracket.JPG  

This is not a part that I think would be more efficient to run on a fixture, unless you want to invest in air actuated clamps. Without air clamps, your load/unload time would be a lot higher on a fixture than with vises (20 seconds per part compared to 5 seconds per part?).

If you insist on a fixture without air clamps, mill pockets into the fixture plate to drop the blanks into. Then use the side of the pocket on one side and Mitee-bite or Bulldog edge clamps on the other side to secure the parts, near each end, so you do not lose as much clamping force when the slot is milled. Leave just enough room at the ends to mill the corners.

HORRIBLE DRAWING.

Consider building 2 fixture plates which each holding 10 parts. One fixture plate is in the machine running a batch while the operator is unloading/loading the other fixture plate. It'll keep the machine AND the operator busy.

If it's a repeat order, for these kinds of quantities, you can afford the time and money to build efficient fixturing to get your cycle times down.

Quote Originally Posted by fizzissist View Post
    HORRIBLE DRAWING.

Consider building 2 fixture plates which each holding 10 parts. One fixture plate is in the machine running a batch while the operator is unloading/loading the other fixture plate. It'll keep the machine AND the operator busy.