586,060 active members*
4,158 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Enco Benchtop Mill running Flashcut system - motor stutter on rapid retract

Enco Benchtop Mill running Flashcut system - motor stutter on rapid retract

So I am relatively new to CNC mills, I just picked up an Enco mill with the flashcut conversion along with a box full of other mounts, tools and accessories. The stepper motors are the 5000-3xxx series. I have a couple quick questions.

1.) I have no issues when using the jog command in any of the 3 directions at high speed (currently limited to 20 ipm in the system configuration) I can run it down and up the z-axis with absolutely no issue. However when I hook up my tool length sensor and use the z-axis for the sensing function it appears to act differently. After touching the probe and initiating a rapid move in the z direction upwards (immediately after tripping the sensor) the motor stutters and starts going crazy. I assume it is doing it's rapid move at the systems limited 20 ipm. The weird part is, is that it performs this function fine when using the jog command. I temporarily reduced the max Z speed to 5 ipm to resolve this issue, but now when jogging it is obviously painfully slow to sit through. Does anyone know a solution or reason why the z motor would be having issues like this?

2.) Would anyone happen to know the max speed for this setup? 20ipm seems slow for the xy travel, I am curious if I can set it higher without damaging anything, but I do not know the acceptable methods as to determine what the max speed can be set to. Is it simply increase until you start losing accuracy or are these values recommended by the manufacture?

Thanks for the help!