586,594 active members*
2,848 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Software? Dxf? Laser? help!

Hello Every One. I am having problems and I hope some one here can help me solve my problem. I do not remember if it was this site or PlasmaSpider.com that I saw an octagon fire ring. I am trying my best to make one with no luck. When I signed up at PlasmaSpider I got 10 dxf files I would like to use. I of coarse had to shrink them down to fit into my 15" by 12" sides. Now every time I try to cut them on the laser at work I keep getting a "P00153 I. F. Error." When I first started I was getting a "G41 or G42" error because I am new to the cnc industry. I finally built my own router table at home and the company I now work for said they would give me a try but I have no formal training of any sort. I was told that the G41-G42 error was because the laser (Mitsubishi ML 3015 LVPlus) would get confused in the sharp inside corners. So I took a couple of the dxf files home and used Vcarve Pro (the software I have to run my home cnc machine) and took a lot of the sharp inside corners out. I also removed some of the nodes and used the software to "smooth with curve" to give the inside corner a rounded edge instead of the sharp V. The software on the machine at work to run the nesting is DiamondSoft 7. No one at work can seem to tell me what to do, so I am hoping some one here can help me out with this problem. Is the error because my curves are a ray instead of an arc? I really don't believe that is the problem because it will do several of them now. I was hoping to cut it out this week but without your help I'm stuck.

I can't believe that a machine like that will get confused about a few sharp edges.
    I don't know what these errormessages would mean as this is something of that Mitsubishi controller itself..
    DXF can give a few problems. Maybe this is because the definitions in DXF are almost prehistoric. (needs an upgrade imho).