586,058 active members*
3,768 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10

    BP Boss 6 Programming Question

    I've got my Series II, Boss 6 finally up and running somewhat reliably in my garage now... so I have a question on the syntax for using polar coordinates. The programming documentation I've acquired is for an earlier control and doesn't cover this feature. What I am attempting to understand is the use of G03 circular interpolation while providing (A)ngle and (R)adius parameters. I am also confused with I and J being specified as absolute coordinates for the arc's center. Can a Z axis move be incorporated with a G03 move? Could anyone shed some light on this for me... it would be greatly appreciated!

    - Tim
    (scratching head!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028
    Iy boots into G17 which is X & Y G02/3. If you specify G18 or G19, it becomes X and Z or Y and Z.
    Either use I J (signed incremental value from start point to circle/arc center, OR use the X, Y and R. I never bothered to use the A.
    To do simultaneous X Y AND Z is considered helical and I am not sure the BOSS 6 does it. Consult the programming manual.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    Thank you for your answers George. I believe I was somewhat unclear in my original question. My programming manual is for a pre-Boss 5 control that didn't even support multi-quadrant circular interpolation much less (A)ngle and (R)adius syntax.

    I've attached a couple of pages from a Bridgeport comparison document that briefly describes the updated features of Polar coordinates in the Boss 5-6 controls. It states the possibility of cutting a radius vector distance for a given angle. Also the ability of a helix by utilizing looping.

    My attempts at using X, Y, and (R)adius in cutting arcs in the XY plane have been troublesome since it is unclear how the center of the arc is specified (I and J?, incremental or absolute? G91, G90). The attached PDF seems to indicate G75 can be used with I and J specified as either absolute or incremental. The G-Code tests that I've done on the mill do not seem to operate as I would have guessed.

    Do you know of any documentation available for this? I'm really curious as to the ability of cutting arcs in the XY plane that include an increasing Z depth.

    Thanks for the help.
    - Tim
    See attachment...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    460
    I had a hard time understanding this on my boss 7.2 sounds like you could have the same problem I had I found it best to give a G75G90 in the last G0 or G1 before the G3or G2 Then your I&J are the abslute point of arc center fromX0Y0 easy to rember rather than start point to arc center +-Xor Y for the I&J respectivly Practice in air,wood,wax or plastic it break's less tooling I have yet to manage to spirle I dont think it will do multi qud with Z If you are self taught CNC like me every time you run it you learn a new trick Kevin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    Your controller is using stander EIA format G, M, code info is very easy to find on web and the best trick to save on broken tools is to run path before loading tool

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    Here is a sample listing that does not run on my Boss 6 control as I would expect. It is a simple spiraling circle pocket that concludes with a 2.6 inch radius tool path:

    N10 G90 G75 G17
    N20 G00 X0.0 Y0.0 M06 T1
    N30 G00 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.100
    N40 G01 Z-0.005 F100
    N50 G3 Y0 X0.35 R0.175
    N60 Y0 X-0.35 R0.35
    N70 Y0 X0.7 R0.525
    N80 Y0 X-0.7 R0.7
    N90 Y0 X1.05 R0.875
    N100 Y0 X-1.05 R1.05
    N110 Y0 X1.4 R1.225
    N120 Y0 X-1.4 R1.4
    N130 Y0 X1.75 R1.575
    N140 Y0 X-1.75 R1.75
    N150 Y0 X2.1 R1.925
    N160 Y0 X-2.1 R2.1
    N170 Y0 X2.3 R2.2
    N180 Y0 X-2.3 R2.3
    N190 X2.3 Y0 R2.3
    N200 Y1.4922 X0.8077 R1.4922
    N210 G00 Z0.1
    N220 M02

    I have simulated this code using Mach3 and it appears to run fine.

    Thanks for all the suggestions thus far... I haven't destroyed any tooling since I test these programs with my tool TLO set way above the material until I sense the movements are correct.

    Does anyone have a Boss 5 or 6 program manual that might explain the proper syntax?

    I find it somewhat humorous that when the Bridgeport interpreter decodes a line of code it doesn't understand, it seems to move the axis motors in weird ways... instead of raising an error on the control panel.

    Thanks.
    - Tim

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    your code does look good here the veiw from metal cut
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails test 4.1.JPG  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    I think this might have something to do with the subtle differences in how the R is interpreted. I was reading here:
    http://www.nfrpartners.com/nfrg2g3.htm

    ...and it mentions the R syntax can infer two arc centers. Using + or - might choose an arc < 180 or > 180 degrees. This might be cleared up in the Boss 5/6 programming manual.

    Thanks.
    - Tim

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    you may also be able to program using I and J heres a sample program for a 4" pocket dia. circle using a 1/2 cutter path you need add you program start and G90 to start line and add end info. edit Z hights
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    460
    The boss 6 is going to use I&J for the radis A 2" arc tool path at X2.0Y2.0Arc center would be
    G0G90X0.0Y0.0
    G75G90
    G00Z0.0S500M3
    G00X0.0Y2.0M8
    G01Z-.100F50
    G03X0.0Y2.0I2.0J2.0
    G01Z-.200
    G03X0.0Y2.0I2.0J2.0
    G01Z-.300
    and so on I dont think you can do Z unless it is one quarter at a time not in multi Qudrant The G75G90 makes the arc center the same as I&J G75multiQud G90Abslute
    Watch Ebay for manuals Good Luck Kevin

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    I've decided to use the absolute G03 with I and J syntax until I can find further documentation. It's unfortunate that there are so many flavors of G-code for the various controls.

    I am writing some simple G-code generating wizards and wanted to stay somewhat compatible with Mach3. It doesn't look like that will be particularly feasible from what I can decipher at the moment.

    Thanks for everyone's input! I'm now on the prowl for a Boss 5/6 programming manual...

    - Tim

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    Attached Your Will Find A File For A 2" Arc Only 180 Degs. Arc Center Is X2. Y2. Z Goes From .5 To 0.0 This Is A 3d Path You Can Try It To See If Your Contoller Will Do An X, Y, Z Circle Intrepulation
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    lakeside -

    Thanks for the file. I can see from the code that my controller will have no problem running this... it is simply 3D straight line vectors (G01). I have generated these myself from a helical wizard I was working on... one drawback to this is the fact that it takes so many lines of code to define a smooth path. My Bridgeport has a somewhat small program memory and these files can be huge. I suppose one of my next projects could be a "drip feed" of some type - I think I know a scheme that might work.

    Everything is much appreciated!
    - Tim

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    Do You Have An Rs-232 On Your Controller?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    RS-232 yes indeed... though it's not the fastest. I believe I'm running 4800 baud.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    So Can YOU Run Dnc For Very Long Programs To Controllers Buffer

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    I suppose I can run DNC to the Bridgeport's controller but I don't have software to do that at the moment. Like you mentioned... I could run large programs that won't fit in the controller's program buffer if I did.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1625
    Dnc Software Is Cheap There Are Many Companies That Have It

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028
    The BOSS 5 will not support DNC unless you have the Bridgeport DNC loader. I know that now BTR (behind the tape reader) units are sold but do not know of anyone running one.

    BTW, I had one person trying to make a cam profile and it was coming out wrong. He was using R instead of I J. I admit that the R is easier but a radius can fit between two point in more than one way. When he switched to I J, the cam came out correct as the radius center was specified.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10
    I am now set on using I and J for G02, G03 commands. Unfortunately absolute I and J coordinates are not compatible with Mach3 which I was using to simulate my tool path for testing.
    The operating manual I have mentions that sending the "escape" character to the machine while in edit mode will cause the machine to execute the current line in the buffer. I might test this sometime to see if it would be feasible to create an application on Windoze that would feed the machine a line, execute it, delete it, and then repeat the process for a complete file... it might behave like a crude DNC. There may be some problems with this in practice.

    - Tim

Page 1 of 2 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •