586,094 active members*
3,996 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Syringe Pump/Mach3 Interface

Hi all,

Looking into purchasing one of these pneumatic syringe pumps to use as an extruder for a 3D printer:

Nordson EFD | Ultimus

Ideally this syringe would be mounted on my Syil X4 mill and used as a hybrid 3D printer extruder. I would like to connect the pump to Mach3 so that everything can be controlled simultaneously with the same code. I was thinking of using the coolant commands (M7/M8/M9) to control turning the pump on and off. There are two kinds of connections from this pump to the PC: RS232 and 15-pin I/O. Any ideas as to how to control this system from Mach3?

I have little to no experience with electrical wiring and limited experience with Mach3 so please be thorough in your response if you can.

Thanks,

Josh

We use the same units on a high precision stage. Easy breezy. Just need to close a contact (relay) on the I/O port to start the pumping operation. Pin 5 to pin 6.

Excellent, I'm glad to hear that. Just to clarify are you also using Mach3 to handle the pump? If so how are your outputs configured?

Also if you could describe what kind of relay you are using and how you're connecting the PC to relay and relay to pump that would be great. Thanks again!

No, I said high precision Personally I think Mach3 sucks A$$. We use Aerotech slides and software, and it's own controllers. (this is big$$$) Mach 3 should be easy to just use the output for the coolant pump though, and get a small relay for whatever breakout board your using. Micro relay would work fine, it's only about a 20ma through the I/O pins on your pump. All you would need to figure out is the output voltage of your breakout board.