586,096 active members*
3,625 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Precision plasma or Bulltear?

I'm looking to build/buy a 4x8 table and need some advice.

I have it narrowed down to the precision plasma 4x8 patriot or the Bulltear 4x8 gantry kit (fab the table myself)

I wanted to ask opinions on the positives and negatives of each kit.

What I will use it for is hobby/part-time work. mostly 3/8" thick plate or less with ym PM65. Both use Candcnc.com electronics, and have the same height control. I plan to add a scribe for sure.

Both use mach 3/sheetcam

The benifits to the precision is I can buy a scribe kit, however on the bulltear I will have to fab one. The bull tear however *looks* beefier.

So I guess what I would like to hear is any input on which table you would buy?

Also, this probably should be in another section but what CAD or drawing software is effective but user friendly to export to sheetcam or mach 3?
    I have no cad experience, but I'm not a idiot either, I half thought about buying torchmates Cad software, but I can't tell if it exports the right code for mach3.

Thanks for any help, it's greatly appreciated.

I have bought the 4x8 patriot from Ron and I was a little scared on the strength of the table but after looking at in person and I knew it would handle a full 1'' thick sheet 4x8 no problem. Its very well built and strong. The pictures due not do the table justice! I also bought the scribe and router mount from Ron and couldn't be happier!

I was to going to build my own table but decided that after cost of material and paint and such that it was cheaper to just buy one that was ready to cut!

As far as cad software I would recommend Autocadd 2010. But you can use other forums of cadd software and such.

Well I ordered a 4x8 patriot from tensor today, we'll have to see. I'm sure I'll have lots of questions once this thing shows up.