586,121 active members*
3,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > My framework for cnc router, right direction?

My framework for cnc router, right direction?

Hi,
    I'm in the middle of designing a cnc router out of 40 x 40 bosch extrusion as i can source it easily, ive put 80 x 40 round the top to strengthen it, the side and gantry will be 10mm aluminium

ive made it to use linear guides but may change to rails yet, undecided.

its my first build so still very new to this, reading as much as can in time i have, so was hoping if someone could let me know if im on the right tracks and if my frame looks ok and solid enough or if changes could be made before i go much further as ive just learnt this cad program and its pretty time consuming at the min, getting abit quicker more i do tho

im planning on using a hitachi mv12, which i would like to cut wood/plastic and aluminium

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CNC ROUTER2.jpg 
Views:	305 
Size:	44.0 KB 
ID:	169627

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CNC ROUTERbttm2.jpg 
Views:	209 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	169629

any advice, is very much appreciated

thanks

e2a: attachment

Hi!
    I would stiffen the gantry sides with some edge-on elements (eg the same thickness (or thicker) projecting 5-8 cm away from the vertical pieces, running the full height of the gantry sides). Plus, if you could bring the under-the-table cross piece up closer to the table underside it would make it stiffer.

I don't know the X-Y dimensions of your table, but the open areas seem large to me, and the table top may deflect down under cutting forces. Can you add more cross braces?

the dimensions of the frame are 1000 x 750mm, it could be made smaller if necessary.
    yeah would be no probs putting in extra extra cross braces, ive attached a pic of the under cross piece and would be able to come abit yeah.