586,058 active members*
4,104 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

tramp oil separators

Hello,
    First Post. I am a MfgE Student from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. I work part time at a job shop here in San Luis Obispo. My boss approached me about researching ways to make our coolant stop stinking, and remove the tramp oil, and solids to extend coolant and tool life.

So far, I've come up with a lot of options. Skimmers, Coalescers, Centrifuge units, etc.

Along with that is the question of permanently mounted units vs portable units.

A little background: We have about 25 machines, mostly Fadal 4020s, but we also have 2 Mori vertical machining centers. Currently we use Blasocut 2000 Universal coolant, we cut 90% Aluminum, with some stainless and plastic occasionally. Our way oil is Hangsterfers Way Oil 2.

I have found a lot of products that claim to solve our exact problem, but I am having some trouble distinguishing which one would be best for us. I've looked into Zebra, Keller, Alfie, Eriez, and EdjeTech.

What are you using? Do you like it? If you could change something would you?

We are mainly worried about the Mori's since they are our new, fancy machines and we want to keep them nice. They have high pressure coolant, and a lot of flood coolant, along with a mist collector so there is a very high volume of coolant contained in the machines and it is in many chambers. Since the machines run almost contstantly though, the coolant is circulated frequently. This also means that the tramp oil is well emulsified and probably more difficult to seperate. Just something to consider.

We are more interested in getting units that work well than saving a few bucks, but cost is still always a concern. Thanks in advance for your input!

ok
    does the coolant pump from a common tank and drain back to this tank?
    first figure out total GPM involved.