512,671 active members
3,814 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0

    Connect PC to Fagor 8055

    This does not seem to work. There seems to be a security lockout by the PC, which runs XP. I tried to eliminate the firewall and open file directories to network access.
    Has anyone successfully done this?
    TX JB

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    73
    how are you trying to connect it to the pc? serial? ethernet?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0

    download from Fagor to PC running XP

    Quote Originally Posted by CNCTech25 View Post
    how are you trying to connect it to the pc? serial? ethernet?
    Pls excuse late reply. I am connecting with rs232 serial cable, and running Fagor sw - something like windnc or wincnc The cable is supposedly eied to Fagor specs.

    JB

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    12

    connection

    we have a continus connection sillilar to an ethernet connection
    we use mulit dnc and use the remote connection

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0

    ethernet?

    I don't think the 8055 has an ethernet connection.
    What is "mulit DNC?"
    Which OS are you using?
    Thanks in advance
    JB

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    12
    I meant to say similar to ethernet
    it uses the rs232 communication port 9 pin
    multi-dnc is the software used to set protocalls
    the rest of the machines in the dept. also use the same software for uploading and downloading programs

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    12
    sequence at the fagor is
    copy serial2 to program#111111
    the control will search the computer dirve for the program #111111
    when it finds it it loads it in control under 111111

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1218
    I download programs from PC to Fagor 8055MC via RS232 using Com1.
    I use Fagor's WINDNC on the PC.
    You need to set the Machine Parameters for Serial Port in the Controller and the Port Setting in the PC.
    If this is what you need, I can supply the setting I use.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiwi View Post
    I download programs from PC to Fagor 8055MC via RS232 using Com1.
    I use Fagor's WINDNC on the PC.
    You need to set the Machine Parameters for Serial Port in the Controller and the Port Setting in the PC.
    If this is what you need, I can supply the setting I use.
    yes by all means, Thanks JB

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiwi View Post
    I download programs from PC to Fagor 8055MC via RS232 using Com1.
    I use Fagor's WINDNC on the PC.
    You need to set the Machine Parameters for Serial Port in the Controller and the Port Setting in the PC.
    If this is what you need, I can supply the setting I use.
    also please let me know the operating system you are using. I have XP.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by PatM View Post
    sequence at the fagor is
    copy serial2 to program#111111
    the control will search the computer dirve for the program #111111
    when it finds it it loads it in control under 111111
    Thanks - will try.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by jbrookes View Post
    I don't think the 8055 has an ethernet connection.
    What is "mulit DNC?"
    Which OS are you using?
    Thanks in advance
    JB
    Fagor's 8055 controls do have ethernet, just not all of them. It depends on the vintage. Their modular systems originally used NetBUI through the hard drive module and then they eventually switched to TCP/IP on more recent versions (used to require an expansion board to the CPU, but now they come standard, you just have to buy the software option)

    Same thing with their compact units, but the hardware is not standard yet.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by jbrookes View Post
    also please let me know the operating system you are using. I have XP.
    If you use Fagor's WinDNC, WinXP is good. I've run WinDNC on Win98, WinXP, Vista, Win7. No issues (that is if you dont consider not being able to uninstall on Win7 a issue...)
    I used to use DNC30 which is DOS based.

    WinDNC is your best bet to get a connection from control to PC etc. You can use the default serial parameters on the control since they're set for Fagor's protocol. All you would have to do is set up a profile in WinDNC for the connection and define the control model and match the baudrate to that of the control.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    85
    could anyone post the right pi assignment for the the rs232 cable?

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by sting View Post
    could anyone post the right pi assignment for the the rs232 cable?
    Simplified connection is 2 to 3, 3 to 2, 5 to 5 and on each subD connection jump 4, 6, and 8 together. This will work for all 8055 controls (except for Eprom style, very old 8055 that came out right after the 8050)

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by CNCTech25 View Post

    WinDNC is your best bet to get a connection from control to PC etc. You can use the default serial parameters on the control since they're set for Fagor's protocol. All you would have to do is set up a profile in WinDNC for the connection and define the control model and match the baudrate to that of the control.
    Latest Windnc(from Fagor Spain) on XP. Serial port parameters on PC and CNC match. Upon start up of Windnc. screen titled 4456.txt has column on left with 3 .txt files and says local. Bottom of screen has black bar with C: in it. Red bar with what looks to be a network icon below the black bar. The only active things are the 3 file icons in the left column. Opening them just opens an empty page.

    Not 100% sure that the cable is correct. Only know that it works with Fanuc and very old 8020m control.

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by alphonso View Post
    Latest Windnc(from Fagor Spain) on XP. Serial port parameters on PC and CNC match. Upon start up of Windnc. screen titled 4456.txt has column on left with 3 .txt files and says local. Bottom of screen has black bar with C: in it. Red bar with what looks to be a network icon below the black bar. The only active things are the 3 file icons in the left column. Opening them just opens an empty page.

    Not 100% sure that the cable is correct. Only know that it works with Fanuc and very old 8020m control.
    Problem solved. Corrupted installation of Windnc. Reinstalled and everything works as it is supposed to.

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by CNCTech25 View Post
    Simplified connection is 2 to 3, 3 to 2, 5 to 5 and on each subD connection jump 4, 6, and 8 together. This will work for all 8055 controls (except for Eprom style, very old 8055 that came out right after the 8050)
    help 8055tc with eprom I missing, cabel diagram, machine parameter

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    14

    Re: Connect PC to Fagor 8055

    for 8055 with eprom or 8050 and older cnc fagor controls, the pin out is 2 to 2; 3 to 3; 5(pc)to 7(cnc); at cnc side join 5-6-9; at pc side join 8-6-4.
    set serial comunication parameters to their default value (hit initialize softkey) or try the comunication with windnc at 9600boudrate

    kind regards

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    14

    Re: Connect PC to Fagor 8055

    hi
    for 8055 eprom series or 8055 and older cnc fagor controls, the cable pinout is 2 to 2; 3 to 3; 5(pc) to 7(cnc); join 4-6-8 at pc side; join 5-6-9 at cnc side;
    try thye comunication at 9600 baudrate all other parameter to default.

    kind regards

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. fagor 8055 tc
    By trarus in forum Fagor Automation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-19-2019, 06:17 PM
  2. Fagor 8055 G 54??
    By clayman in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2013, 06:29 PM
  3. fagor 8055
    By cncsed in forum Fagor Automation
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 02:21 AM
  4. Fagor 8055 DNC communication
    By theartz in forum Fagor Automation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 11:13 PM
  5. HELP POSTING TO FAGOR 8055
    By rough_cut in forum Fagor Automation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 02:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •