586,117 active members*
3,482 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Spindle speeds - why so fast?

Spindle speeds - why so fast?

Yet another newbie question. Flipping through the posts here, and reading the textbooks, I always see RPM numbers for milling aluminum that are well above what my Grizzly mini-mill can do. It tops out at 2500 RPM. But I always see RPM's in the 4000+ range being quoted.

Main point: As a beginner, I'm looking to figure out my technique to get nice clean cuts with no welding and minimal surface ugliness. I don't mind feeding slow.

Assuming liberal amounts of coolant (I'm rigging up a flood cooling system, flushing Kool Mist mixed 1:4 with water) and relatively slow feed rates (<= 12"/minute), what's the no-brainer approach for me? Always crank the mill up to the max (2500 rpm) and feed at whatever I feel comfortable with? Or keep the RPM's down in the ~1000 range, because at that feed rate range it just doesn't matter?

When cutting aluminum use High speed steel cutters. Preferably 2 flute cutters designed for aluminum. The general use type cutters meant for steel will clog and pack up solid very quickly. 4 flute HSS cutters will also clog even faster. They can be used with very shallow depths of cut and low feeds in a pinch, but don't turn your back on it. Don't even think about carbide on such a slow spindle even if the cutter is designed for aluminum. Crank up the speed but you might get a lot of vibration on a light duty mill. The softer grades are easily cut at 400 Surface Feet Per Minute and up. I have run 1/2 inch end mills at 4000 rpm and 60 inches per minute .100 depth of cut on a Lagun mill with Prototrak MX3 control. This is a far heavier machine than yours. It is still a light machine by industrial standards though. Using flood coolant can be messy when cranked up like that. We used an air blast or mister most of the time.