586,108 active members*
3,293 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach PCNC 1100 not talking to the computer or vice versa

Tormach PCNC 1100 not talking to the computer or vice versa

Hi,

I used my machine for a few hours yesterday and then shut it down. Went out today to do some more work. Fired it up and the red indicator for the computer does not light. When
    I try to move the Z axis upward + it does not move. The readout shows it moving but there is no apparent motion, no motor sound, nothing. The spindle is setting down on a piece of two by four on the vice so I have not tried to move either X or Y.

I am not an electrician so I am not sure what to do next. Has anyone out there ever had this problem? Can someone tell me what to check and in what sequence?

Thanks,

Ernie

Hi Ernie,
    I'll go and pull the Z axis fuse and see it I get the same results.
    I think you should call Tormach, they WILL help you. Doesn't matter if your machine in out of warranty.

I pulled the Z fuse, got the same results.
    DRO showing movement with no power to the motor.
    X and Y axis work fine.

Maybe just the fuse.

Did you check if the cable between the computer and control box is connected and not loose?

I have had one of the axes not work as you describe yet the readout shows its working, I just shut the main power off for a few seconds , turn it back on and everything is fine again.

HF from the welding machine I believe is what causes my problem.
    mike sr

Well like I said, I am not an electrician. Looking at the schematic I do not see a fuse specific to the Z drive unless it is on the DC bus board..I will have to pull them to check if they are blown. Or I will put the ohm meter across them once I ascertain that all the power is off.

Checked all the connections and they seem to be in order.