586,106 active members*
3,064 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > BSA pinewood derby cars

Cool BSA pinewood derby cars

Just wanted to know if anyone has milled boy scout derby car on cnc mill / router. Just did my first one. After 6 hours of design, setup and cutting I'm glad my son likes it!

Hey Drew, Have you seen the one whiteriver did http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...2&page=2&pp=15 ,It looks pretty cool. If you get a chance you should post some pics of yours. Thanks- Robbie

I'm still awaiting arrival of a dayton mini CNC router and have already purchased Bobcad v20 and bobart-x-pro. I bought this for fun and yes plan to mill alot of pinewood derby cars. Got first place last night in Tiger and Bear Race. I keep getting asked how We (my sons and I) win. I tell them I am a machinist and some still don't get it. Yeah this is gonna be a blast. I heard of some software for Co2 cars that sounded neat.

I thought that the pinewood derby was supposed to be a father supervised project, not a father PERFORMED project??? 8-))

That's OK, I "supervised" a couple for the neighbor kid and a cousin. Kicked you know what at the trials that got us into the "dash for cash'. Got stuck in lame bumpy lane in finals for trip to Indy 500 and still finished close second (ours were hand filed, not CNC'd).

You'd have a blast with R/C cars if you can afford it.

Yes, the fun of winning using tricks that are in clear sight of all.. Ahh the memories.

Quote Originally Posted by NC Cams
    I thought that the pinewood derby was supposed to be a father supervised project, not a father PERFORMED project??? 8-))

Years ago, my son asked for help with his pinewood derby car. So, I showed him how to use the belt sander and drill prees. AND, then went back in the house. He had the UGLIEST car at the race that night. When he took first place, he had total bragging rights 'cause every there knew he did it himself.