586,121 active members*
3,758 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Can you point me in the right direction?

Can you point me in the right direction?

New here, and new to the whole idea of cnc machines. I'm looking into the feasibility of making some small aluminum parts in house and could use a pointer for where to talk about this. Two examples of parts I'd like to make:

Is there a machine I could buy to do these kinds of small parts for under $5000? I hate to be the total newb guy asking such an open ended question but you have to start somewhere. I'm able to use solidworks and model these kinds of parts, but I am not a machinist so I'd have a lot to learn. I'm a professional computer programmer so at least the computer side of things is an attractive part of the idea rather than an obstacle. Any advice or even pointers to a more appropriate place to ask the question are appreciated. Thanks.

For making those sorts of parts the machine you are looking for is likely a CNC milling machine.

You can definitely put something together for less than $5000, the price is going to be heavily dependent on how large those parts are. If they're smaller than 10x5" then there's lots of options. If they're 10x10" then you have to look at getting a larger milling machine which is going to increase your costs.

Have a look at the BF20 milling machines: BF20.com

They're available at lots of different places, CNC retrofit kits are fairly easily available and the machines are supposed to be high quality.

Before you spend any money learn all you can about CNC and machining. If you can get your hands dirty doing some manual machining then get to work! Best places to look are local community colleges and tech schools, often times they will offer metalworking classes that cover milling and lathe-work.