586,655 active members*
3,340 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > Need advice in buying new computer for Solidworks

Need advice in buying new computer for Solidworks

Hi guys, so im new to this forum so please guide me

So im a 4th year engineering student who want to get certified in solidworks.
    To do that, I need a computer to get alot of practices on. Im currently using a 3.5 years macbook pro which isnt so great anymore so ill need a new computer soon. I would prefer another MBP if possible but im not sure if it can run Solidworks smoothly? iMac is also an option if it can work. I'll get a PC if it's my last option. I read some thread here that people use VMware? can someone please explain to me what it is and why do people seem to use it to run solidworks? If there a preference between bootcamp and parallel? Which window is best to run Solidworks? THX!

Thank you so much in advance

VMware Fusion is competitive product to Parallels. I use it to run SolidWorks on an iMac i7 and it runs very well but, certain little thing behave strangely on it. e.g. CTRL selecting entities seems to behave strangely. The other strange thing is that while SolidWorks itself runs very well with 3D accelerated graphics mode, I have a plug-in that doesn't work correctly with that enabled.

Bootcamp will run SolidWorks very well in a pretty much native fashion. If you have room on your hard drive, I would recommend making a bootcamp partition for windows/solidworks and then add VMware fusion (or parallels) so that you can access it in "emergencies". Trick is, you have to install the bootcamp version first and then import it into VMware.

Realize that when you run bootcamp, you'll have no access to OS X.
    -Andy B.
    http://www.birkonium.com CNC for Luthiers and Industry http://banduramaker.blogspot.com