586,096 active members*
3,478 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Advice on components for DIY CNC router and mill

Advice on components for DIY CNC router and mill

Hello everyone, My name is Brent and I'm new to CNC and this board. I want to build 2 machines as inexpensively as possible and was hoping to get some advice on what components to use.

The first machine would be a router-powered machine used to cut out wax molds for metal casting in a lost wax investment process. It may be used to mill plastic and light materials, but primarily wax.

The second machine would be a heavier duty mill similiar in capability to a Bridgeport mill. It would be used for machining the end product/parts from the casting process.. mainly aluminum motorcycle motor parts, so getting close tolerances would be a necessity, as would some sort of manual control.

I'm looking for advice on what ballscrews, steppers, controller boards would be good for both machines, one cutting wax and one cutting aluminum and steel. I'd like to get the best resolution possible.. but also best bang for the buck.

Also- for the heavy mill: what size spindle would you suggest? with the idea of machining aluminum and steel, and finding inexpensive compatible tooling.

Any and all info and advice is much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

How big are the models you wish to mill out of wax?
    If they are under one SQFT I suggest John's BBox kit if you want to build something without working from scratch.
    It includes most of the mechanical parts, you merely need to cut the MDF,
    and order the Thomson shafts from MCmaster.
    It can be build for well under $500 for the frame, you'll have accuracy, rigidity, and some decent speed for soft materials.
    I have his A4 and it's a very nice machine.
    BBX...Design and Prototyping
    For metal working I'll let someone else chime in, I've never milled metal before