586,104 active members*
3,485 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Silly questions about the 40 Watt Chinese Laser Engravers

Hey all. I've been lurking here for a while and decided it was time to ask a couple of questions.

I work full time as a laser engraver in the awards industry. I have been thinking about picking up one of the cheap-o eBay 40 watt laser engravers.

After talking to another engraver about it, I was told not to get one because there's a risk they can make the parts you are engraving radioactive. lol

Someone tell me this is just plain stupid. I think he's reading the warning labels about radiation and taking them out of context.

Anyway, I have a lot of small cnc machine experience so I'm not too worried about tinkering with the machine to make it work. And now that I'm a member here I can drive everyone on the forum crazy with questions.

My main use would be engraving plastic tags. Name badges, legend tags, maybe some small acrylic awards from time to time, etc...

Anyone on here using one for that sort of work? Is the quality of the engraving good enough for professional quality small work like this?

I realize the software sucks but it looks like it would be good enough for doing simple raster engravings. I don't plan on doing much vector cutting with it.

Again, I know it's a cheap pos but I think I'm going into it fully aware of the limitations. I just want to make sure it can at least handle some simple jobs.

Oh, and does anyone recommend a good seller of these here in the states ebay or elsewhere?