586,094 active members*
3,801 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Question G54 problem with mill

Fanuc 15ma mill control problem

I'm new to G code & need help with G54 . Every time i enter G54 in program
    ,then hit enter table takes off for limits ? If I'm in middle of table and set
    G54 to numbers where i'm "at" in offsets . When used in program on first line it
    always takes off ! If i enter 00 's in it(G54) runs program from position i'm at
    & returns ok . Could my parameters be messed up ( had somebody just enter
    them manually ) or i'm i doing something wrong ??

Have no clue what you just tried to describe.

Ok sorry if misunderstood .

If i enter table x y z coordinates into "G54 work zero offset screen " .
    Then when i call G54 in a program it will not start there where set .
    Table just runs to limit switch on x & Y opposite of Home as soon button
    is pushed .Then errors on table travel overlimit . Should not table go to coordinates entered into work zero offset screen under G54 to start .

Is machine home at the upper right? If so G54 (and 55 thru 59) offset coordinates need to be minus numbers. Also the program line should be something like:
    G54 G0 X0 Y0

Yes upper right .I have to home each by them self . z + x - Y + . Its funny
    that i have to home x - instead of + . But it homes to 00 on all xyz .
    Could some thing be wired wrong ? They were all plug in connectors when
    assembled . It will not home to x+ (tried & no go ) .This mill had lost
    all parameters after sitting for many years . x- makes it go right to home .

Quote Originally Posted by edslim View Post
    Ok sorry if misunderstood .

If i enter table x y z coordinates into "G54 work zero offset screen " .
    Then when i call G54 in a program it will not start there where set .
    Table just runs to limit switch on x & Y opposite of Home as soon button