586,051 active members*
3,761 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Small scale RC chassis needed

Hi guys,

In my serching, I've stumbled across this site, and WOW!!!.

I need some RC chassis made, at a reasonable price. I want to keep production costs down so that I can sell it for $45-$50 . It's a very small part and is only 10" squared for one unit. I would like it to be made of 1.5mm thick CF, but if that is too expensive, aluminum will have to do. I have drawn the chassis and partially dimentioned it in rhino3D. I'm not very good at CAD programs but I knew enough to get what I want drawn.

Honestly, I really don't want to spend alo of money. I'd like to have 10 made for the dry run. And if they are selling well, I'll definately comeback for more.

Here is a pic of the partially dimentioned chassis. If anyone is interested, I'd like some quotes please :wave:

Thank you
    Maxx

So...You want someone to make ten of these for less than $450 to $500 out oF carcon fiber?
    Good luck with that

I must be missing something, that seems like a large part for radio control if those are inches
    thanks Kenneth
    www.lambertsrc.com

Quote Originally Posted by PBMW
    So...You want someone to make ten of these for less than $450 to $500 out oF carcon fiber?
    Good luck with that
    No, he wants to sell them for that price. If retail is 3-5 times manufacturing costs. His purchase price would need to be around 10-20 bucks each. I'd venture a guess that micro cutters alone would sink the deal. Maybe waterjet or laser, but the run time on them does not go cheap.

It could be wiser to spend the prototype costs on purchasing a small CNC router that will cut them, At least you get to keep the router when the parts are completed.

Luck has been proven not very dependable........

DC

A lot of those geometries are impossible to mill, EDM is out of the question for cost. Waterjet would be the best way to make a few.