586,116 active members*
3,463 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Rhino 3D > extrude surface

extrude surface

I'm not new to CAD (2D) but I am new to 3D CAD and have been trying to learn Rhino5 over the last few weeks. I have an evaluation copy at the moment and will buy the full version in the next week or so. I have decided to run with Rhino for various reasons: 1) I have a Romer 9ft digitizing arm which will plug directly into Rhino and 2) after much reading over the last year I have realised that it's the best program for my needs (surface modeling, as opposed to solid modeling). Certainly there's lots to learn and my brain isn't getting any younger.

(1) I'm wondering if there's anyone who's familiar with Rhino who wouldn't mind answering (by email) a dumb question or two along the way. I'm watching all the video tutorials on the net so the questions won't be many (i.e. no pestering) but they may seem dumb such as the following:

(2) I draw a surface (organic curve) and I want to remove a section of it so (in perspective viewport) I do a vertical line then "surface" then "extrude curve", "straight" but it always goes in the wrong direction. What do I have to do to make it go in the direction of the other plane? Change the C.Plane each time?
    Thanks for your help.

It sounds like you're trying to extrude in the wrong viewport. Rhino is particular about that, and even if you've shifted the view, it will still only allow actions in relationship to the original view. So, for instance, if you're working in a top view, it won't allow you to drag something perpedicularly through the flat surface you're looking down on. You'd need to shift to a side view for that.