586,077 active members*
4,039 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Upgrade to V25?

Gentlemen:

Having started with V23, I am now using V24. My knowledge of the program is very limited, having learned just enough to make the complex 3D profiles and geometric engraving patterns I need. Probably all the hard way. <g> I have no experience with other Cad/Cam systems, but all in all I am mightily pleased with what the program will do considering the cost.

V24 does all I need, but seeing all the grand things you all are showing with V25 I can't help wanting a shiny new toy. The Question: Is 25 a new program or just the same program in a pretty new dress with some swell new features? I run into some quirks with the model creation and tool paths, most of which are assuredly my fault, but some that are not. Are the modeling and code writing "engines" the same in V25 or are they also new and improved?

Also, I notice no mention of the Preditor editor with V25. Is it no longer part of the system, or has been replaced with a different utility?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts on this. I have been monitoring this forum for a couple of years and have learned much. I thank you all for sharing your time and hard won knowledge with those of us still on the steep part of the learning curve.

Best to all,

Glenn

Hey Glenn,

Is it a new program or just in a pretty new dress? I'd say a bit of both. Obviously the Multi-Axis is all new. Radically new. Like never been done before by BobCAD new. And it's not just for 4 and 5 axis users. There are 7 new multi-axis toolpath features that work just fine in 3 axis, so I'm told. So in that respect, the Multi-Axis (4th Pro and 5th Pro) is new software.