586,102 active members*
2,511 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fagor Automation > Save Controller parameters to USB or Hard copy

Save Controller parameters to USB or Hard copy

Greeting fellow Chip Makers,

I am a newbie at this CNC game and I am being told all sorts of horror stories in regards to computer alzheimer's (memory loss) due to a flat battery.
    So what is the best way to avoid this can you copy all the required data to a USB stick (and how do you achieve this) or should you write down all the parameters and file them away.

Jock

Pros-N-Cons

Hi Jock,

You are wise to worry about this BEFORE it becomes a problem (e.g. before a battery failure).

The data that is the most important to make backup copies of include all the machine parameters (P1 thru P9999), the PLC program, any important subroutines (usually programs numbered (P99998 and/or P99999) and (depending on your specific machine and accuracy requirements) the Leadscrew Compensation tables.

The less important data to back-up (altho still valuable and time consuming to replicate) are the tool tables and offset tables.

All of these can be pulled up on the controller screen using the various menu options (which depends on the model of your particular control).

You can really record the parameters, tool tables, etc. in any format you'd like. There are pros and cons to each.

Some options include:
    1. WinDNC or ethernet connection and copy electronically;
    2. Pull up the information on the control screen and write it down;
    3. Pull op the information on the control screen and snap pics with your camera;
    4. Get the info from the OEM (Fagor is not the OEM - whoever bought the machine and fitted the Fagor control onto the machine is the OEM).