586,103 active members*
3,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Complete Newby Advice On CNC Mill Needed

Complete Newby Advice On CNC Mill Needed

Hello - I will start this post by stating that I know absolutely nothing about CNC mills other than observing them from a distance and basic non-cnc mill use 20 years ago back in high school. That being said I may be starting a business that will require a CNC mill. In short, I need a mill capable of making essentially one cut in aluminum roughly .5 Wx 2.0 L x 1.25 D it also needs to be able to drill two 5/32 holes in said aluminum. This is a very simple machining and one that could be performed easily on a manually operated mill, however this buisness is unique in that the customer is going to be perform the milling operation, so the need for uber simple CNC machine is needed. So the question is what is the best value, lest expensive CNC machine capable of this job. That is all it is ever going to have to do—one cut the two holes...over and over again. BTW the exterior dimensions of the billet of aluminum is roughly 8 L x 2 W x 5 D to give youa rough idea of the overall size of the project. Thank for the help.

Quote Originally Posted by mikw375 View Post