586,051 active members*
3,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New swiss machinist

Hello all. Long time since posting on the zone but couldn't think of a better place to ask questions and get great input. As of this Monday i will be putting in my two week notice at my current job then starting at my new job working with swiss machines. I know very little about these machines so i have some questions.

First i will give you some background on what i know.
    I have 12 years experience running vertical mills of all sizes from a small thirty taper to large 50 taper machines.
    For the last 7 years i have been running mazak machines using there mazatrol convsational programming.
    I have basic knowledge of g and m codes but its been some time.
    Very little experience on lathes.

These are the machines i will be working with.
    Citizen Cincom swiss machines
    A32, L20E type IX, K16E VII, L32, L20 XIII

Are there any resources out there that can help me learn how to program these machines?
    I understand how these machines work. Im more concerned about learning to program them to do it.
    Any help would be great.

Thanks very much!

No takers?

Swiss machines are animals all to themselves. Your milling experience will come in handy if the parts you will be making, requires a lot of milling. Programming turning in a swiss is simple, if you have any understanding of G&M codes. That is not to say that machining parts in a swiss is simple. When it comes to milling, just remember that the little tooling in the machine does not have the mass or bearings that even a 30 taper mill has, let alone the horsepower.