586,983 active members*
4,203 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Gouge marks on Impeller. 5-axis using TR-65

Gouge marks on Impeller. 5-axis using TR-65

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, have a '97 Fadal VMC-2216 with a TR-65 Head doing 5-axis simultaneous machining (Impellers). During the roughing cut, the back side of the blades ends up with gouge-like marks along the blade length. The front side comes out beautiful. I'm using point climb milling (not flank) with carbide ball end mill. It's a repetitive pattern on every blade. Anyone have any ideas why this is occurring? Not sure if it's backlash on A axis problem, angular problem or if it's in the program. I've included a couple of jpegs, to show what's happening.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CompWheel (1).jpg   CompWheel (2).jpg  

it's hard to tell whats going on with out watching the motion of the cuts

are you climb milling on both sides of the splitter ?

try finishing the splitter and see what the surface looks like

Are you using MasterCam to program?

You should check your servo tuning as well as backlash before doing 5 axis work. Youll want at least a .0001 indicator if not a .00005 indicator to set backlash. IIRC XYZ will need to be tuned to 302 and A and B to (hmm cant find that one)

Quote from the manual for DC drives

1) Enter the following program:
    a. X-4. Y-4. Z-4. G1 F150. M49,M91.
    b. X4.Y4.Z4.
    c. M99P1
    2) Press Auto, to start the program running.
    3) At the amplifier to be adjusted, use a small screwdriver and turn the SIG2
    potentiometer until the monitor’s display of the appropriate axis reads the
    following: 595 - inch ballscrew / 302 - metric ballscrew.
    4) Press the SLIDE HOLD button on the keypad and adjust the balance of the
    amplifier to read between 0 - 1.
    5) Press the START button on the keypad and the program will start again.
    Verify that the following error is still 595 or 302.