587,070 active members*
2,921 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Help get my machine moving..

Help get my machine moving..

I am trying to get my spectralight mill running so I can start making parts.. It is using the original round motors which I can't find specs on. The original drive was toast so I traded it for a set of 3 & 4 axis tb6560 boards. the 3 axis gave up the ghost last week while I was testing the motors. I modified the 4 axis as per the fix it thread and it seems to work. I get Y axis movement fine but X & Z seem to be really sluggish and rough. It was the same with both boards. I think the motors are shot... What can I replace them with that won't break the bank?. Preferably under 30$ a piece if possible and ill take used if they work. I just need it to move so I can get some parts made.. I am an electronics engineering student and I will be needing the mill to make parts for a final project in the coming months. Thanks.

Kevin.
    Nsr customs.

It sounds more like a problem with your drivers than with your motors, but you can test that by transferring the wires from the one working axis to the other ones and seeing if they work with a good signal or if the fault's really the motor's. Be sure to turn everything off first, and let the caps discharge before disconnecting anything.

I'm not sure you got the best of that trade - those TB6560 boards are notorious for flakiness, and the dead but repairable old board might have been worth more. Since you're an electronics engineering student, maybe you'll be interested in this thread: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/genera...r_updated.html

Andrew Werby
    www.computersculpture.com

Re: Help get my machine moving..